Geoff Davis / Folk School

By bluestone

Now You See It ...

I found myself in my childhood hometown and diverted from the main road to visit my first home. During the week I had been thinking a bit about this house. I also found myself thinking about the dear older lady across the street, "Aunt" Millie. In fact at some point during the week I had mentally walked through her house remembering the floor plan, her cozy kitchen and her always fat Christmas tree. I remembered her narrow walk to the front door and the large trees that snugged up against it. In the summer she would line cacti and houseplants along the driveway.

When I drove up in front of my old home I found myself more interested in Aunt Millie's house wondering who lived there and what it would look like.

This is what I found. No house, no kitchen, no houseplants, no front walk and no trees.

There were no neighbors out to ask about what had happened.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.