Sunbeams

By Saffi

RIP Mr Brock

We awoke to a sprinkling of welcome rain - but still not enough.

Not someone who likes to go to the retail park on a Sunday, I was determined to get the new kettle sorted which I did. The calf is going from strength to strength and we now have the dilemma as to whether to return it to its mother on the other side of the farm. She is so young and may have forgotten her motherly instincts or wait til tomorrow when T will be back and then we can move her up to her calf and the other sucklers cows and their young. If she rejects it then we will be close enough to notice and start to feed powdered milk. We decided to wait in order to stop any unnecessary bumpy rides for the calf.

Poor Mr Brock was a road casualty but no one had moved him to the grass under the hedgerow to avoid further disturbance so old muggins got him by the tail and dragged him onto the grass. He was a young adult. I then beat a hasty retreat home and disinfected myself in order to stop any unnecessary risk of TB to our animals should he have it. Yesterday I zoomed past another road casualty, this time a squirrel and thought on my return that I would stop and remove the little body but I was too late! I can't understand people driving over these animals especially on quiet roads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.