Doing Things Differently

By PhilWWalton

.....And Still Counting

A big day for my Blip journal today. It passed 10,000 views. I'm enjoying putting it together. Thanks for all the comments, I really appreciate them.

As well as blipping, I also have a photostream on Flickr and tweet using @Woollly. These uses of technology have wierd and wonderful consequences. Let me give you an example.

Saturday's blip is a view of a party we went to. The band were excellent, a duo who were joined in their second set by a guy on the sax. Whilst they played some Latin numbers, four of Rebecca's friends showed off some great moves. It turns out that they had included the evening in a Hen Weekend for one of them, which Rebecca told me also involved, amongst other things, Take That's Friday gig in Manchester and a Zumba party on Sunday. I'd never heard of Zumba before Saturday, but apparently it combines Latin music and exercise and these four had come to it after taking dance lessons together. Which explains why they could throw some pretty impressive shapes.

One of the accounts I follow on Twitter is @HiddenBradford. The pictures they tweet and retweet are usually quirky and interesting. Today they retweeted a message from a guy who had gone for a walk in Roberts Park and stumbled across a huge Zumba session. He had attached a twitpic, so I clicked on the link. It showed a load of people exercising away. You couldn't really recognise any of them, as they had their back to the camera. Except.... The four people nearest the camera were all wearing the same tee-shirts and looked strangely familiar.

Rebecca texted one of the quartet as soon as I showed her the picture. It was them. Small world, isn't it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.