a town called E.

By Eej

99 Cents


That's what these rose bushes cost; 99 cts a piece at Aldi. Of all places.
We figured that for a dollar, it would be worth a shot. So, I rummaged through the display trying to find at least two of the same kind, poked myself on thorns and generally made a mess of things.
The Beloved rolled his eyes at me.
I found a John F. Kennedy (white) but only one, and no other Kennedy's to go with him, or even anything white. I grabbed Queen Elizabeth (pink). At this point the thorns were making me bleed all over AND the Beloved was now rolling his eyes at me in the check-out line.
Frantically I searched.
And then had to give up. Reluctantly.

See, I have to have my things in threes.
I needed another rose.
But, I also couldn't live with getting a red or a yellow one as the third. *twitches*

It took me the rest of the afternoon to get over the urge to go back, and in all honesty, it still bugs me.

Because of the cold, they both had to spend some time inside where they started to sprout gangly pink things. So I put them outside until I had time to plant them. And they waited ... and they waited some more. And more.

They still rewarded me with flowers. Aw.
Well done, mr. Kennedy! Well done, your Majesty!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.