michigan man

By outdoorguy

A Mini Standoff

Took a little drive into the country-side today. Gravel roads and wash-board pot-holes. In the first five minutes...I saw wild turkeys, a horse family of 3, a single turtle, and a single deer.

I was just about to leave the gravel and get back on the pavement...when I spotted this blue heron. After a couple of shots of the bird in the water, he flew up onto the fallen tree. I waited 21 minutes for him to move off of the branch. My back hurt, and my shutter finger fell "asleep." I had to take my pointer finger off the camera, and shake it awake.

Darren the heron was doing that weird "gurgling" thing with his throat. Rolf, the red-winged blackbird started attacking Darren. Rolf is named after the weasle messenger boy in my favorite musical..."The Sound of Music." How dare he hold a gun on Colonel Von Trapp! Rolf, the blackbird, was dipping and diving and darting and dancing around the heron. Darren was unfazed. He acted like the blackbird was a troublesome little gnat. After 4-5 fly-bys, Rolf gave up. Darren waited for another few minutes, and then flew away. I thought I got the shot, but it was out-of-focus. Drat!

We are having some serious, serious problems with our computer. For now, I am using my lap-top. It does'nt have the photo programs that my big one does. Don't be surprised if I disappear for a few days. I HATE TECHNOLOGY, AND I HATE PEOPLE WHO ENGINEER THESE VIRUSES!!!

I think I need to take 10 deep breaths. The computer is taking a trip over to Uncle Steves. He is our family expert. He is a computer nerd, but we all love him. Hoping for the best.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.