Click Click Redemption

By Seoirseo

The Other Reason I'm Here

Today was the 1st the day of my CELTA course in teaching English as a foreign language. Things got off to a great start when I introduced myself to the the head of the course and he replied, "Ah, Seoirse, we didn't know if you were a boy or a girl?"

This sadly is not the 1st time that's been said to me. I once had a letter addressed to me (from an English uni) as Miss (?) Seoirse O'Mahony. Ah the joys of an unusual name!!

We only had half a day of classes, as the centre was in a bit of a tizzy over a conference where the key-note speaker (pictured) was a chap called Jeremy Harmer, who it appears is a bit of a Legend/Guru in teaching methodology. So we were all invited along to listen.

A half-day was however, more than sufficient time to instil a sense of the sheer intensity of the month that lays ahead. 10/11 hour days will not be uncommon and then study on top of that. My first experience of teaching will be when I am stood in front of a live class on Wednesday.

Dios MOFO Mio!

Actually, truth be told I'm really looking forward to it, even if I have no idea at the moment how I'm supposed to cover the bulk of English Grammar in 4 weeks! YIKES.

My blippage may take a bit a hit as a consequence. We shall see, we shall see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.