"You Can't See Me!" #2

I've seen no end of wildlife, particularly new wildlife, on my journey to and from school today, but every time I got off the bike to blip it, it ran away including some very fine snipe in a recently mown hayfield on Bents Lane. This little guy was frolicking in his field till I took out the camera, then he headed straight for mum and tried hard to merge in against her background. I guess it must be my fluorescent jacket that does it! There was a research article on tv a couple of weeks ago that said it's possibly safer for cyclists not to wear safety gear. Apparently they have studied driver response to passing cyclists and if they wear a helmet on average cars pass 9cm closer - I've felt the draught from a few of those in my time! I won't be swapping my yellow jacket for a camouflage one any time soon, so I guess the wildlife will continue to disappear.

I am particularly saddened that the house martins have not returned to their nest this year. They have not appeared in such numbers as last year and the nest remains empty.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.