Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Big dreams

Oooh remember this!

A man's gotta have big dreams. That's what I thought when I saw this image of Callum. I couldn't help but feel the perspective from below provided him with a more statuesque air which defied his years and I rather liked it. We seldom view our kids from below.

There are no limitations, only those we impose upon ourselves.

We can start out early, so today we:

- dropped Reuben off for school
- drove to the beach and made new friends at the sandy playground of Santa Monica
- walked to the library for todder's story and song time upon hearing about it whilst playing
- crossed the road to the fiesta in aid of the TOMs charity at the California Heritage Museum, by the beach*, enjoying complimentary icecreams and smoothies, the giant bubble machine and the mariarchi band. TOMS are launching their one for one eyewear campaign to aid the visually impaired in the developing world
- picked Reuben up from school and met former nurse Jenn at the pier
- played on Muscle Beach

You can have big dreams and some days, you can just stumble upon a whole number of wonderful things and be quite exhausted by lunchtime. Either way, just grab those opportunities. I had no idea how the day would materialise, my legs just followed the sights and sounds and those for me at the best days.

Tonight I cannot wait to return to The World of Gloria Vanderbilt, my library book. The story of her triumphs against both a grotesquely financially privileged and emotionally underprivileged upbringing is extraordinary.

*I didn't have my camera and since the press were there, you can check out their images instead.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.