middleman

By middleman

Silver

In 1986 I was 17. Twenty five years ago to this very day I went to my first ever pop concert (or gig if you prefer). I was coming up to the end of my first year in the sixth form at school and hung around with what was called the 'alternative' crowd, I listened avidly to John Peel on the radio, bought records with the money I saved up from my shelf-stacking job at the supermarket and had started to wear clothes that my parents thought were 'a bit funny'. Nothing extreme, but 'a bit funny' nonetheless.

Sunday 8th June, 1986. A local up-and-coming band were playing the Hull Tower Ballroom. It could only be one bunch couldn't it really. Paul, Stan, Hugh and Norman I thank you from the bottom of my heart. You were fantastic that night and you set me off on my long gig journey.

Ta very much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.