Clix : Aperture Wide Shut

By clix

Cliff Hanger

While riding off from Dunsapie Loch yesterday after being stared at by a swan I noticed that there were a lot of Jackdaws sitting on the wall overlooking Duddingston Loch. This morning I took my steel steed round Holyrood once again to see if I could capture any of these birds.

Turns out there are loads of Jackdaws nesting in the rocks overlooking the road round Arthur's Seat and in holes in the wall stretching down that overlooks Duddingston Loch.

Managed to snap this one sitting guard at the entrance to its nest.

Sometimes both parents would fly off for food to bring their young but often one would remain and cling to the ledge just outside the nest to keep and eye out for predators (or blippers possibly!).

I just love the clear blue of their eyes. So much more personality than their cousins, the Crow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.