Dampened plumage

I was in love with the whole world and all that lived in its rainy arms.
Louise Erdrich



Rainy, then sunny, hot and humid. Perfect weather for severe thunder, wind and hail later I fear. The temperature could top 97 F, not my kind of day at all.

I think this bird is a soaked male Baltimore Oriole, a juvenile perhaps. At first I thought it was a female, but I'm pretty sure it's a male. I came upon the wet beauty while I was walking down the driveway to the mailbox. Luckily, I had my camera. It was on an insect hunt and was amazingly successful. It polished off a huge spider that made my skin crawl when I downloaded the photos. To it's delight, it flew off with a delicacy, a large white spider egg sac. This bird was drenched from hunting in and among the wet plants and leaves.

Update...hot...cranky, now thinking this bird is a female. I've asked for help from my birdman.

Oriole nest info

Bingo!

Dessert


For the Record.
This day came in wet and humid, 68%, 95% humidity, barometer, 29.74, steady



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.