2011 photo resolution

By karenanya

Female stag beetle

Hail stopped my lunchtime walk today. Not what you'd expect in June.....

I had to go out of the office into the car park to take a mobile phone call (only place I get sufficient signal) and I happened to spot this female stag beetle trundling across the tarmac. Luckily she was still there later on and I followed her round trying to get a decent picture. She was moving fairly fast and the black background (wet and shiny too) did not help to make her stand out. This is the first female I've seen this year.

The 'phone call was a request for me to bring more freebies and equipment to Cheltenham tomorrow - apparently it has been so busy at the Science Festival that our resources are running low. Sounds like it could be a busy weekend....

Went to help out at the new parents' evening for the students who will be transferring to son number two's secondary school tonight. The kids all looked so small - particularly as they tried on giant blazers so they could order them for September. Hard to remember that mine were once that tiny.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.