Clare's Symi

By claresymi

Hot 'n' Hazy

A slightly strange day in Symi today. Firstly there was the weather. Temperatures reached a maximum of about 35°, this is unusually high for early June. Thing was though that the sun was nowhere to be seen, instead the sky was covered in a thin layer of white cloud all day and for a few minutes it even tried to rain. As a result, there was no colour anywhere so getting any reasonable pictures was impossible.

A few weeks ago I started to suspect that a creature I didn't know existed in Symi, was living on the mountain. I heard it moving around at night but knew it couldn't be a goat or a sheep as I couldn't see it but it couldn't be a lizard as I wouldn't have been able to hear it. The possibilty that I was imagining things did cross my mind. This afternoon, as I was climbing the steps, I heard a noise behind me, turned round and saw what I thought was a ginger cat run across the steps and onto the hillside. When I caught site of it properly though I saw that it wasn't a cat but a wild rabbit. Unfortunately, I was too far away to get a good shot but I did get 2 terrible ones which prove that I wasn't suffering from heatstroke. I cropped the snaps down as far as I could and here is the finished set of the Mountain Bunny.

I'm so pleased to know that I'm not nuts afterall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.