SoozaDay

By soozaday

A Miracle

I was privileged to spend a couple hours this morning watching Caterpillar B transform itself into a chrysalis, and although I watched so carefully I can't tell you how it evolved. It happened right before my eyes, yes, but the movements were so subtle I still can't figure out what ended and what began. What I can name are tiny experimental wavings of its front feet, and the most exquisite slow ripples through the circles of its body, movements a belly dancer would die for. I had the sense it was reorganizing all of its interior matter, pumping its juices into new shapes and potential. Colors changed, skin hardened, something appeared that was completely different from what had come before, as unbelievable as childbirth.

For those who want to know: it's an Anise Swallowtail Caterpillar...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.