Alpha Incident

By alphaincident

The Savoury Sourness

In Australia, if someone bites into a lemon or puts one of those ultra-sour lemon candies in their mouth, well, you know the face they make. That's the sour face.

Enter Japan. When I first met my wife I was like, what the hell, she's putting lemon on everything, especially on fish and anything deep fried. And I'd make that face. Six or so years later, I'm turning Japanese I really think so. Can't get enough lemon on my fried chicken or vinegar to dip my boiled gyoza.

I've discovered that the Japanese often make the "sour lemon" face when they eat something overly sweet for their taste buds, and when they're sucking on lemon, umeboshi or something else we'd find sour, that's when they get that glazed-eyes, death-by-chocolate look on their faces.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.