Unknown landmark

I've no idea what this is or what it represents, it's not in the books and a quick internet search hasn't given me the answer. It's a really tall structure in the New City, on the edge of a roundabout that has fountains, which are all lit up in various colours at night. This is only part of it as well, captured in the bright sunlight. Unusual to have such hot and sunny weather so early in the year apparently, but it suited me!

Forgot it was Easter as well - if it wasn't for the real chicks as a feature display thing in the hotel this morning. They were so sweet!

To get back to Amman, I went for the service taxi option. This involved a normal taxi (the best one all weekend) to the outskirts of the city to be met by several taxi drivers touting for my business as I got out of the car. A bit of haggling and walking away got the fare down and I shared a car with two others (safety in numbers?!) for the journey back across the border. All for the bargain price of about £8. I enjoyed crossing the land border, in a nerdy kind of way. It took at least 40 minutes to go through 7 checkpoints, a car check, two Immigration buildings for exit/arrival stamps and some ten minutes while the driver stocked up on his duty-free fags!

Had a nice welcome back at the hotel here. It's nice to be 'home'.

Would recommend Damascus - I'd go back.

Not sure how this will work, but it's a link to my Syria album on Facebook.... it shouldn't break the blip rules, as it's photos only. But we'll see....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.