Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

It's Tim time

What can I tell you about Tim? Well, he moved to London from Nigeria in 1956 to study law and international affairs but when he wasn't being studious he was hanging out with his Nigerian contemporary Afrobeat legend Fela Kuti amongst other things.

He moved to Liverpool in 1982 to help launch the Charles Wootton Technology Centre named after a 24 year old ship's fireman from Bermuda who was murdered by a white mob during race riots in Liverpool in 1919.

I first met him in the mid 80s when he was one of the community voices trying to influence the regeneration of Liverpool (which I may have mentioned yesterday...) for the better. Our paths have crossed ever since.

These last 3 years I've worked with him to help communities have their say about health and social care services but that's not the only thing he does. He's involved with the Senior Citizens Forum and the West African Elders plus he's on the national Older People's Reference Group and the National Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Committee for Age UK.

When not busy with all his other pursuits you can find him listening to jazz and opera. He's also a keen photographer and I'm trying to get him Blipping too - think about it eh Tim?

He's one of the coolest people I know and I'm delighted to introduce you to him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.