Details ... #9 Quilt Art

Today my mother and I visited in the morning the weekmarket and a superstore in Flushing. All the time threatening clouds hung over our heads. But it stayed dry until lunch. The moment we returned from shopping, it started to rain. And it never stopped in the afternoon.

We decided, after a proposal of my mother, to visit a quilt exhibition in one of the side rooms of the Atrium. Of course I'd heard about quilting but always thought of more luxury bedspread, mainly in the room of your grandparents ... :O (oh, this is so wrong ...I know ... sorry)

Quilting is an art and the results are not as a coverlet on a bed, but hang like paintings on the wall. In all shapes and sizes. I give you this link to read more about it if you're interested. I was impressed about discovering a whole world of 'Quilting'

This detail is an example of one of the techniques. It has a little bit the idea of stained glass. It's a heron that has just landed on the waterfront.

Due to family circumstances I am unable to to provide all my comments today and tomorrow. My apologies. I hope to respond again as usual from Sunday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.