Graphically Perky

By gperky

The Power In You

Today my little sister had orientation for college.. She graduates next weekend, which of course makes me feel old, even though we're only 2 years (and 23 days) apart.

I spent the day with the parents, who got to learn all about things like the alcohol and drug policy, what to do if your baby gets homesick (don't tell them that the dog misses them), and letting your kid go off to school and grow up. Things I know because I've been at school for 2 years.. So I was kind of bored.

But it did make me think about what I'm doing at school, and the choices I've made and am making.. So I think it was a helpful visit for me, too. I want to do more that I'm not doing, in a few aspects. Even though I didn't need orienting.. I figured some things out regardless.

Hope my sister figures out that Tom Petty knows what he's saying, and that she doesn't take things too seriously. Though I think for her, that won't be as simple as it is for me.

You have four years to be irresponsible here. Relax. Work is for people with jobs. You'll never remember class time, but you'll remember time you wasted hanging out with your friends. So, stay out late. Go out on a Tuesday with your friends when you have a paper due Wednesday. Spend money you don't have. Drink 'til sunrise. The work never ends, but college does.. - Tom Petty

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.