LightWave

By LightWave

Black Swan

Drama in the duckpond!

Ducklings aplenty at the moment, and the swan Juliet (or Romeo) decided to catch one. Much splashing and beating of wings ensued as the swan chased the little ducks around the pond, attracting a good deal of attention in the process. Luckily ducklings can, well, duck (one ducked right out of this shot!), and I don't think any came to grief this time. Swans can be very aggressive, and are not above killing a duck. In fact, a little googling told me that this is not the first time this year that Romeo (or Juliet) has seemed intent on doing one in.

R & J have a nest with eggs in it (which I intend to blip sometime soon) - this probably makes them extra specially irritable. There will be no cygnets though, sadly, because R & J are both female.

My 70-300mm lens is making horrible grinding noises and the whole camera shakes at times. I was lucky to get any swan pictures at all. I guess a trip to the repair shop goes onto the agenda for tomorrow.

:(

Boston Public Garden, Boston, MA

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.