The Edinburgh Naked Bike Ride

This was a day of might have beens.

I might have gone for my early morning, quiet roads and nice weather, cycle ride round the fringes if only I could have got myself out of bed in time.
It's not that I didn't wake up soon enough: no, it was more the question of giving myself too many reasons why I should just turn over, and acting upon them.

I'm rather worried at the moment about my morning 'get up and go', which has seems to have abandoned me since coming to the Dower House.
I'm wondering, with my tongue in my cheek, whether the Feng Shui in my bedroom is bad. Maybe I should have the bed at 90 degrees and facing north /south rather than east / west or perhaps I should just sleep the other way round with my head west rather than east.
Whatever the cause, I find it hard these days to jump up and get out.

(Who was it amongst you you whispered age? That was a below the belt comment and an unworthy one. There's no problem about my jump, only that it doesn't happen early enough.)

I might have gone for a walk in the Pentlands with his Lordship had it not started to rain as we left the house and got worse the nearer we got to our destination.
Walking in persistent rain, when it's not obligatory, is not my idea of fun even though it might be a challenge in adverse weather conditions that seems to appeal to Himself.

I might have been happier standing for over an hour in the sunshine of a balmy June afternoon to watch the start of the Naked Bike Ride through the Meadows rather than freezing to death under a tree with rain dripping down my neck to see a few stalwarts disrobe and wear very little to cycle round town in protest about our car loving society.

You may be permitted to think that today was possibly a day to be inside a car rather than cycling around with a bodyful of goosebumps in the wet and cold.

I might have been wise to limit the calorific intake given the lack of exercise, but needless to say comfort food is required on a day like today, masquerading as an autumn one.

We'll see what might be tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.