Daily Nothings

By dailynothings

Race for Life

I had volunteered to help out at the Race for Life my sister and her friend had entered.

It was an early start for me as I needed to be at Clumber Park for 7am! When I got there I was given my t-shirt and had to wait to be assigned a roll, this turned out to be a race marshall.. and as you can see here, I was posted at checkpoint 18 (about 6.5k into the 10k route).

Luckily my checkpoint also had a red cross team stationed there, so I had some nice people to chat to while we waited for the first runner to come by. This wasn't too long after the start tho, but it was a single lady who obviously took her running very seriously!

Not long after that it got rather busy, with all sorts of ladies and girls running past, and lots of them seemed rather pleased when I told them that just after my corner, the track changed to a road surface (especially those with pushchairs!) I was told afterward that there were just over 2000 runners today.

Once the last of the runners had gone by, I picked up the posts near me, and headed back to the start, luckily I got a lift from a pick-up truck, and me and another volunteer hitched a ride in the boot of that! lots of fun, although we did get rather covered in all the other signs that we picked up on the way back!

All in all a pretty successful day!

Oh, and should any of you feel generous, there's still time to sponser my sister and her friend if you follow these links:

Sarah's Sponsor Page

Ange's Sponsor Page

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.