Clean Slate

By cleanslate

Pile on...

School mate's 4th birthday party. First one for which I've left no.1 son alone! On the way home I asked him what he had eaten and was told, 'Cake' and he changed the subject. I informed him of how when you get back from a party your mummy has to lie you down on the floor and listen to your tummy to see what is inside. He was thoughtful. 'I ate lots of cake.... and crisps.. will you be able to hear the crisps??' Me: 'Yes, of course. And the sandwiches'. More thoughtful silence. 'There won't be any sandwiches. There were only 2 things there that were good for you, sausages and cheese sandwiches, and they couldn't cook the sausages, so, you know, I couldn't eat them and I don't like cheese. But (triumphantly) they didn't mind me having treats even though I hadn't eaten the healthy things'

Oh dear. So many things wrong with that sentence. I'm cringing to think of him asking them to warm up party sausages on sticks and surely his comprehension of health food is better than that??? Oh well, I'm eating crisps and drinking red wine whilst I'm typing this, so I guess.. people .... glass... houses .... stones...

Wish I could find more time to blip more regularly but life is definitely conspiring against me at the moment. Still, after the sugar rush the kids had a lovely play in the garden with Daddy, mostly rolling around on the floor, just one big heap of arms and legs! Can you say, 'Photo opportunity!'?

I'm off to fetch a takeaway now :-) Happy Saturday everyone!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.