Anonymous

By anonymous

Significant Birthdays

Today I have blipped a 13th Birthday Card.

I've always been paranoid about my age. I've always been immature. Think it stems from being the eldest of three and having over protective parents.

On my 13th birthday nothing happened. I was a teenager and nothing signified this event ............ apart from the fact that I asked my mother if I could have two pillows on my bed instead of one. Two pillows to me signified adulthood!

On my 18th birthday six girlfriends came to the house, where I lived with my parents. I made quiche, salad & jacket potatoes. My parents stayed upstairs, yet the minute my friends left at about 10.30pm, Dad was downstairs eating the left over's. All I wanted to do, was tidy up in peace. I was still a child in their eyes ............... and I don't even think we had any alcohol?!

For my 21st birthday I went on a rare trip to the pub with my friend and her two brothers. Two or three southern comforts and ginger ales (definitely no more) later, they drove me home at 10.30pm. The following morning I had the worst hangover I have ever had in my life. I have never, ever drunk Southern Comfort again!

When I was 25 years old I'd started to realise that there was more to life than a mortgage, pension & job for life. So my 25th birthday was spent at a local nightclub snogging ...................................... I don't know who?????

30 years old was definitely the birthday I was dreading most. So I held a 'Flirty@ 30' party in my tiny little flat. It was fantastic. All my friends crammed in there. But the thing that stands out most....................... someone microwaved frozen sausage rolls for 10 mins and then handed them out ......................... and people actually ate them??

My 40th birthday - I met up with my sister on a walking weekend somewhere in North Yorkshire. Spent the night with a group of vegetarian, keep fit eccentric, green people & social misfits - all very middle class and environmentally friendly and totally oblivious to the lives of anyone in the 'Jeremy Kyle' world?! The only person that I remember from that weekend is an ex-public schoolboy in his 30's who was single and desperate for a girlfriend. If I'd been brave enough, I would have told him to have personality transplant!

Fantastic @ 45 - I gathered together my friends in an Edinburgh pub & held a joint bash with a mate who was 46 on the same day. Everyone said I looked fantastic (which was good) but the music was too loud (which was bad) & I should have chosen a quieter venue so we could chat.

Fabulous @ 50 - Obviously 'half a century' has to be celebrated in style so I had two dinner parties at opposite ends of the country. 25 people at each. Both were fabulous.

Significant birthdays? I guess the next is 60 when I'll be an OAP?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.