OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Mill

I went to the island of Stronsay today and cycled from Whitehall (a quieter version than the London one) south to the Bay of Houseby. Then I walked the shore path along to Lamb Head. Appropriately enough it was full of young creatures. I almost stepped on an eider duck on her nest. She stumbled out and immediately feigned injury to try and draw me away. I didn't know any duck species adopted that trick. She dropped below the cliff and flew back around to the nest behind me. She couldn't risk leaving the nest for long or gulls or ravens would have eaten the eggs. There were fledgling ravens, gulls and geese.The geo called Hells Mouth looked very unHell-like but I suppose in a storm it wouldn't have seemed so pleasant. I walked back along to the loch called Lea Shun, then got the bike and went up to the Vat of Kirbister, then back to the village and the ferry.
I shot some sea scenes but have posted this image of part of an old mill by Mill Bay.
More from the day here.
On the way back, wind turbines on distant islands appeared to be making urgent semaphore signals.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.