CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Nick's tomato heaven

After meeting The Clerk of the Council this morning, I went to check the location of one of the Town's allotments. We will discuss an application for funding for extra fencing for the site.

I noticed a gentleman at one of the gates to the site and we started chatting. Apparently the badgers and deer are the culprits, rather than humans here, as they eat the Nick's sweet-corn just the day before it is ripe enough for him. Very canny. Nick is retired now, but was born near Monte Cassino in Italy, where half a million people died in the second World War.

We had a long chat and then he showed me his polytunnel, which he keeps just for his tomatoes. I snapped this shot quickly, as my time had run out, and I had to get home to work. Before I left he asked if I wanted a cabbage, which was still covered in water from the torrential rains we had yesterday. He quickly whipped out his sharp penknife and cut on of the biggest juicy white cabbages which I have brought home. Thank you so much. I decided that I would show you the shot of the polytunnel rather than the picture of him cutting the cabbage, because it is more evocative, with the lovely stool at the end of the path which I imagine is waiting for him to come and sit down on and admire his domain. I also like the straw hat hanging up waiting for the sun to shine again.

This is why I like being a councillor. You end up trying to do your best and then you also meet delightful people who have time to chat and be generous. what could be better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.