"to notice"

By mnaylor

On the Edge of the Camas Prairie

We found our stride as we were heading across this lovely high area that I blipped last Tuesday out the car window, but this time spent time poking around the great prairie that we have driven just through on so many trips. I have cast longing photo eyes on this building and another nearby many times ? and today we stopped. Got my film camera out too and sure hope it will have a nice result. The lonely feel of the decomposing farm structure is an image that touches me deeply.

Further down the dirt road is a refuge filled with birds, all kinds of birds. The lovely purple camas is in bloom too, so a choice for today ? well I would love to show off a number of photos. The act of choosing one though is a good exercise in what has the most meaning to each of us - at least I think that is the case.

We also stopped in Boise for a brief visit with my brother, the one I tagged after exploring the kinds of places I often take photos of ? old worn out falling apart buildings, junk and such things. So it was a good day and the van is ready for sleep at Farewell Bend State Park in Oregon. This park borders the great Columbia River as it heads into Hells Canyon - a hot deep snake filled place I have never been deep into to.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.