See

By eddymann

Well Done Steve!

I know I'm aging, and with that comes some aches and pains, but I'm finding there's hidden joys along the way.

One of my students, now twenty-four, got married today. I had forgotten about most of our experiences together until the ride out to the ceremony. I realized I met him when he was 13, in eighth grade. I wasn't aware at the time the enormous effect I was having in his life as he struggled through his teen years.

I guess I mentored him in more then a few ways. I know his parents have in the past, and still are thankful for that relationship. But it wasn't until he hugged me today that I felt the compassion of someone who I had touched.

Serving others in this world doesn't get the credit or recognition that it should. I couldn't be prouder of who he's become and the husband and father that I know he'll be.

Well done Steve!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.