the young and the older!

My family leave tomorrow back to places far, far away. They have had a wonderful time visiting England, Ireland and Scotland but the emotion of the visit is all tied up with saying goodbye to the children.

It is hard to say 'farewell' to those you love, isn't it? When it is a parent visiting it seems like hardly time has passed - you slip so quickly back into a close relationship and unity and then you face once again not seeing them (in my case) for two years or more. I have to admit it is not something I find easy, no matter how much I appreciate that I am lucky enough to see them at all.

My youngest will have less memories of them and tonight I tried to capture her young, dimpled hands joined with those of her Grandma and Great Aunt. Little moments that we can look at together and remember - "when the family came to visit"...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.