Crime & Punishment

Criminal

I'm a one man walking crime wave
Nothing you've got is safe
Not your car Not your house Not your money
Not your dreams Not your life Not your grave

He's crooked
Proud of it


The crime rate soars
Goes through the roof
And I'm responsible
That's the truth

He's a villain
Makes a killing


No job too big
No job too small
I'll pick a pocket
I'll make a haul

Does his sums
Takes what comes


I'm a solo act
I'm the gang
I'm the brains behind
I drive the van

Versatile
Makes a pile


I know I'm guilty
But I feel no guilt
I won't worry
Till my collar's felt

He's hard
No heart


But getting caught
Is part of the game
So I keep schtum
I don't complain

Locked up
Shut away


Yes I'm inside
For a very long time
Lost my freedom
The fault's all mine

May I
Tell you why

He was a one man walking crime wave
Nothing you'd got was safe
Not your car Not your house Not your money
Not your dreams Not your life Not your grave


Shut up

Locked away

Shut up

Locked away

I'll be out
One day

Shut up!


Poem copyright Bernard Young from Brilliant, Kingston Press, 2000

Illustration from Brilliant copyright Tod Leedale 2000

My blip in response to the Gaz Challenge

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.