Photos of things I see

By Aboak

Leith welcomes The World

Today I noticed that "MS The World" had docked in the Western Harbour, here in Leith.

For those who don't realise, The World is a floating residential community, who travel the globe seeking adventures on the high seas. And when those residential passengers dock in a new harbour, they can often be seen trading their wares with locals and bartering for local spices and gemstones.

Within a few minutes, I was approached by one of her passengers who saw me eating a sandwich by the quayside. I had to explain that I had nothing to offer but my best wishes for their onward journey.

However, from my viewpoint, I spotted a man on the 'deck' of the ship wearing white trousers and white shirt and a white hat. The passenger told me he was called 'The Captain' and that he often disapproved of his passengers trading with the locals. He was looking at us through his binoculars and appeared to be talking into a radio set of some kind. This was apparently a sign that The Captain was about to summon his henchmen to take us on board for 'questions'.

I explained to the terrified passenger that he has nothing to be afraid of, and that he should return to his bunk for some rest. Clutching his rosary beads and a Bible, he slipped back on board. 'The Captain' and his henchmen stood down.

However, a feeling of discomfort did envelope me, I must confess. What would happen to that poor man?

Resisting the temptation to phone the police, I took a photo and cycled on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.