SoozaDay

By soozaday

The Road Less Traveled

We drove up the coast to buy a few baskets of strawberries from an organic farm a few miles out of town. The fog was either rolling in or rolling out, and it was too windy to stay outside for long, but so beautiful. Back home, I made a strawberry-rhubarb pie which hopefully will be cool enough to slice in an hour or so. The rhubarb comes from our garden and reminds me of my grandmother, who died long long ago. She taught me to snap off the astringent red stalks and dip the juicy end in sugar to eat.

Blipfoto confession: ever since I saw this I have been obsessing on pie, so thank you very much, just be. And although one of our cats is named Rhubarb and tries to eat everything in sight, I do not intend to share.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.