Not Bill Cunningham

I LOVED the documentary on Bill Cunningham: utterly original old man, lives alone (like a monk) in a tiny cubicle, and devotes his life to photographing fashion in New York. Since I saw the film, I've been noticing how UN-fashionable Portland is. But today was my friend Stephie's birthday, so we went to the Portland Art Museum where we saw a really stunning exhibit of classic cars (Bugatti, Plymouth, Dusenberg, and many I'd never heard of) as well as the work of a fascinating artist named John Grade. On the way out of the museum, we came across some art students doing a fashion photography shoot, and that's where I got this Blip.

After the art, we went out to eat. As I almost never have anything to say about food, I think it worth mentioning that we had a beautiful salad of fresh asparagus with a chunk of salt cod, topped in lemon hollandaise and a poached egg. Having then done our duty by nutrition, we indulged in dessert: I had a butterscotch pudding topped in caramel sauce, a dollop of whipped cream, and caramelized bananas, and she had some kind of tart thing.

For those who'd like to see some very sexy, sculptural cars and a rather wonderful torso made of tiny wood blocks, I made a Blipfolio that I'll leave up for a few days and then delete.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.