Self portrait triptych

I didn't know what to write today. Then I looked back at a year ago and found a comment someone left me for that day about 6 months later. It was very touching, and I wanted to share it. Thank you "L".

"I've deliberately come back to one of your fabulously liberated beach shots-to say that I'm really sorry to hear your news today. You have been very discreet, and I didn't want to pry ... but there's that old 'takes one to know one' cliche and I guess, reading between the lines, I wondered if something might be awry in your relationship. When I was separating from my husband, I was shot to pieces - my own decision, but that doesn't make it any easier. Anyway, I was seeing an acupuncturist and he told me' to 'Go and run naked on a deserted beach and scream your head off' I did, and that beach on Lewis, in the dark night, with the surf racing up my legs ... That is the single most liberated moment in my life, the moment that I knew everything would - eventually - be okay again. I wish you well in your next step of the journey, my friend - you are not alone, you have lots of great support on here and you have mine. You know, you haven't had to say anything - your work has been so creative recently, that level of creativity that comes from inside, from a different sort of drive. It's been fantastic work, you are going to be just fine. There's no need to push yourself to be any more than that right now, just fine is a good place to start, don't you think? Big hugs to you, you are in my thoughts L xx (Feel free to delete this, I just wanted one of your ace photos to demonstrate my wee story-every time I look at these, I am taken back and feel that sense of freedom-I thank you for that x)"

Wish I was here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.