Sweet dusty-bones

By sweetdustybones

Portrait of nana #7 - A Collection...

For my final of the Nana series, A collection of 4 random ornaments on a small ledge by the front door. To accompany the image, a collection of 4 random thoughts and memories, in no particular order.


-Her tales of being in a production of the Mikado as a child during the war. It was in a church hall, and part way through the air raid siren went off. Everyone went into the church shelter, except for Nana who decided to run home in her full Mikado costume. She often chuckled that people might have thought the Japanese had invaded.

-Her story about the one time their house was badly damaged by a bomb. It was the only time they went in to the air raid shelter. They never used to bother, but this time, her little sister had awoken crying and in a panic and insistently dragged the whole family in to take cover. It is a very good job that they did. Had the little one not been so determined, I may have never existed.

-Hearing with fascination her detailed account of a near death experience many many years ago. She was above herself, looking down - no sense of time, fully at peace, aware of 'the light' - watching the doctors and nurses busying away. At some point, she remembered her daughter and Husband at home, and decided to come back. She then went back into her body and awoke, with a knowledge that the angel of death had passed her by and gone on to the man in the next room. Sure enough, the man in the next room had passed away. A hallucination? I honestly don't know. She was a woman of great faith with no fear in death.

-A memory that I will forever cherish. My boy, taking his very first steps for Nana in the nursing home just days before she passed away. Her glee at seeing him proudly toddle forward, and his glee as he collapsed in a satisfied heap on her lap.

I wonder if my children's grandchildren will read these entries that I am writing now...If I wonder If they will record details of taking first steps in the presence of my son, or if they will take photographs of him cradling their children...

If you are reading this, my children's children, and beyond - I hope that you have peace, joy and are surrounded by the love of family and friends. I pray that you will live a fulfilled life, being all that you can possibly be. I pray that you know that you are loved, and that you will find strength when times are hard.

Love from the past, to the future.

In memory of Dear Nana, whose legacy was one of Love, Family, Commitment, Generosity, Protectiveness, Laughter, Perseverance and Faith.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.