Me and Max

By grete

A Blessing, part 2

Yesterday I woke up with a headache. The evening before I had been with lovely Susan i Oslo shooting horses. Our trip was something of an out-of-this-world experience, those giant, graceful horses making my heart sing. And Susan is full of joy and dreams and practical knowledge. I laugh a lot when I am with her. I learn a lot. We had fun.

Yet I woke up with a headache.

As I prepared lunch (possibly an excessive term for spreading Philadelphia cheese on 3 pieces of bran bread), a word kept sticking to the end of my knife - overwhelmed.

With my mouth filled with bran and cheese, I sat down to write about the experience. Actually, it was mostly about photography in general. How I have shot with a DSLR for almost a year now (D-Day being 26th June), how the experience is changing me. My relationship to self. To seeing. To creating. To life. How this whole experience energizes me. But also how it can fatigue me.

I was going to post it. But after two or three hours of writing/contemplating, I had to go out. I forgot to save, and when I came back, the whole thing was lost. I am proud to say that on the discovery, I did not scream... (not much, anyway...).

So, it was not meant to be...

I wanted to post a horse picture, so I decided to back blip with a favourite poem attached to it - James Wright´s A Blessing.

I have been blipped out lately - few postings, few comments. To that I can only say, I´m not gone, I´m just trying to sort out a few things. Like - what IS this photography thing? Why am I so obsessed with it? And why exactly do I feel so utterly energized and also a little fatigued? Where am I coming from? Where do I go? Minor things like that......

So, I am trying to learn from little chap here, how to live balanced life - a life of curiosity and fun and wonder and stamina and confidence and love and activity and rest. All without feeling overwhelmed. All with a turnaround word attached to it - A Blessing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.