thespotlightkid

By thespotlightkid

Reed warbler

There are a few pairs of reed warblers Acrocephalus scirpaceus in the phragmites reeds along the drainage ditch and pools behind our office.

They are quite difficult birds to photograph because they tend to stay hidden in the reeds. Birders use a technique known as 'pishing' to get shy little birds to come out into the open. You make little shushing and hissing noises, preferably from a hidden spot where you can stay quiet.

Results can be dramatic. This bird shot stright out of the reeds on to a branch a couple of feet from me and then retreated to this spot to have a good look at me. I think they confuse the noise with that of a small animal and then can't understand what's going on. As soon as they work out you're just another scary yet boring human they retreat back into cover.

I came, I pished, I blipped.

I've now finished back-blipping from my Austria/Hungary/Slovakia trip.
The series starts at 28 May and goes on to 5 June.

There's also a flickr collection here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.