Must try harder....

By mikesnos

Busy Bees

After I cleared out the garage the other week I discovered a colony of White Tailed Bumble Bees had made their home in the brickwork just behind the front pillar of the garage door. Since then I have kept an eye on them to make sure that they're OK and also to see what they are up to.

Today I had a look and there were five, possibly six, bees wandering up and down the edge of the garage and a couple of them could be seen to be moving bits of earth and small stones into the gap between the wall and the floor (where the bee on the left is shown). All this a foot away from the main entrance to the nest so I wonder if they were blocking up the holes to aid/control ventilation. Anyway I spent a good ten minutes watching this activity and thought it worthy of a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.