wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

At the end of the day

One photo today. Here it is. And it was created especially for you. As you can see, much work, thought and effort went into this shot. It was in no way an emergency blip, and very definitely not unthought through.

Up next a long and dilatory monologue about my day, but first a public announcement: I shall not be blipping for the next few days as I will be in the hills without power or reception. My snowy adventures shall be uploaded for your entertainment next week.

Occasionally, just every once in a while, I have a social day. Not a day with lots organised. Not a day full of people and places. Just a day to be social. Today's been such a day. It started when I was awoken by a chirpy text at 8:30am telling me someone would be at his home that morning for me to drop something in. After maintaining a pretence of sleep for another half an hour, I finally gave in to the day that called me from my deep, warm and comfortable slumber.

My morning routine was neither unusual nor did it betray the social turn my day was to take. I showered and dressed with the leisure of someone on holidays with little urgent planned for the day. I cooked up porridge and tea, poured juice and read the paper with little urgency, thinking only that soon I would leave to drop in on my friends.

On departure I checked the mail. Nothing of interest - a bill, a magazine and a Medicin sans Frontiers letter requesting that my mother continue her generosity towards their cause, and so it was returned to the letterbox, it could all wait for someone else to take it inside. Had my drive been a sentence, it would have been described as 'circumlocutory', as I dodged an icy hill and several streets full of hard-hatted men leaning on their signs.

I arrived and deposited the SodaStream with its new owners, giving strict instructions it was only to be used for water. A thought passed through my mind, 'will they really?' And only then did I start to foresee the social turn my day would take. I sat and chatted for half an hour, another friend arrived to collect some notes, we continued to natter, gossiping about imminent travels, SodaStreams and proposed social events. At once four of the five participants to this gathering stood to leave, myself one of them. We departed, leaving the other housemate sitting bereft in front of the television, wondering why the house was suddenly so quiet.

My drive to town was anything but circumlocutory, down one road and into a carpark. Behind me I saw a friend, the same who'd come to collect the notes. She waved as I pulled into a spot, I greeted her likewise. As I exited the carpark stairwell, I started to text her, wondering what she'd come into town for. It was lunchtime, and my stomach wanted me to find something to eat. Head down, thumbs flying I passed another exit from the carpark. And there was my friend. We greeted each other, and farewelled each other again, taking different paths to respective chores and appointments. Little was I to know, just 10 minutes later this scene would be repeated a little further down the road. And so it was.

I bumped into another friend whilst browsing for a new Bible. I knew now this was not to be some isolated, unsocial day, but when our stomachs agreed on it being lunchtime my suspicions were confirmed, I could not avoid bumping into more unexpected people. We headed to a cafe known and beloved by many, from which it is impossible to escape without greeting an old acquaintance or new friend. We greeted, smiled, munched and chatted. My friend ran off to an appointment, I set off for the library.

My day was done. I'd seen many unexpected friends, and now it was time to go home. And yet, it was still not done. My friend, stuck in Melbourne, rang with the joyous news she would be returning, and in time for our trip to Mt Field. I passed on the good news to the other members of our party and we adjusted arrangements to allow for this fortuitous event. I rejoiced at such an answered prayer. And now, I thought, my day must be complete.

Before the fire I sat with feet upon the footstool, in the very place I have now reclaimed for my own. The hour was 5:30, and the time for dinner drew every closer. From my quiet musings I was awoken, again to a chirpy text message. This time 'X-Men, 6:45?'. I pondered briefly, it was only an hour away, and a delicious dinner had been promised to me. But twice already had I declined such an invitation, foiled by exams and study. A third time? No. I would stand this time, and not refuse again. And so I found my social day had not yet ceased. With two of the same as I'd seen that morning, I visited the cinema and enjoyed X-Men: First Class.

And so my day started and ended with awakening by text message. It was not busy, it was not planned, and yet it was a very social day. And now I leave you all to my weekend of solitude. With four others I shall disappear to the hills. We will listen to audiobooks, knit, eat chocolate, play scrabble and enjoy each other's company. It will not be social, but it will be nice. And I shall see you on the other side.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.