Get Back to Me

By GetBacktoMe

Common Spotted Orchid

The Common Spotted Orchid Dactylorhiza fuchsiiis the finale to my wild flower meadow (aka front garden) and it's the original reason I gave up mowing it properly until July each year.

I had never seen these orchids round here, 'Common' being somewhat of a misnomer. When I moved in 8 years ago the lawn had not been cut for several weeks and I spotted (he he) the slender spotty leaves, in the long grass, and waited patiently for the conical flower spikes to appear.
Each year now I mark their little patch with twigs and mow a rambling path through the grass avoiding them.
It's just so people know
a) The lawn mower is broken
b) I've run out of petrol
c) I've run out of money for petrol
d) I'm a lazy B who can't be bothered to cut the grass
e) all of the above

This year there have been 7 flower spikes so far. The greatest number of any year.

Also: The swallows nest in the stable where the mare and foal are, is full to bursting and sadly one little chap fell out yesterday and did not survive. The magpies are mounting a two pronged attack on the nest, but so far it has been thwarted by the mare, when she is in the stable, which is very comical to watch,and at other times by the parent swallows.
Magpies are not my favourite birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.