Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Rolly's Garage climbers

Our next door neighbours, a wonderful couple in their later years have had to abandon much of their garden to grass as they can no longer cope with the upkeep. In fact, it was not a large garden but it was always colourful & as its position was much better than ours, I could always see which of our plants would be flowering 2 weeks later.

Husband Rolly was a "real shoemaker" with his workshop in the front parlour but due to health problems he had to give up last year - I suspect he is about 70. One evening last year as I was returning home I stopped at their house (our newspaper box hangs on their fence - it's too far for the newspaper girl to ride out to us) and saw a pile of old tools and apparatus which had been put out for collection by the local  Steptoe & Son.
I should have loaded the car with it all & given it to a museum as there was some really fascinating stuff. Shame to think it is now a fence post or similar.

Anyway, the reduced Rolly's garden still brightened up my day and I had a 10-minute chat with them to catch up on the village gossip.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.