reminisce

By reminisce

First workshop by friends of snakes...

After a snake encounter at my mom's place, I had decided on going for this workshop sooner or later. So planned a date with our wildlife conservation group. The knowledge would benefit us in our work and generally being animal lovers it is important to be able to respect all animals. Snakes are definitely not well understood by most and breaking the fear and mind block and learning something about the false myths and impressions we have.

Also, the very fact that I'm trying to educate others about dealing with tigers, I should be able to deal with such situations in my own life before I preach to others.

So a few of us who could make it today set off to the farmhouse of the club/NGO setup by Mr. Rajkumar. He died for cerebral Malaria and his dream of setting up a snake park in Hyderabad is not fulfilled. But the members diligently carry on the work of rescuing snakes for no fee from people's homes, gardens, and offices. The members who are working in various fields especially major IT MNCs shared that Rajkumar was known for his uncanny relationship with animals. He could almost speak to tigers at the zoo. He understood animals well. It was uncommon.

The workshop turned out to be very fruitful and I learned so much about snakes. The enthusiasm of the members and their delight in the job they were doing served as a major mental block remover for me.


I tried handling various non-poisonous snakes and the python was the most challenging given its weight and huge size. Overall the experience thrilled me and laid a deep sense of satisfaction. To know that we share the planet with such a wonderful lot of creatures is very fascinating.

I wanted to visit again with the rest of the group in the following week.

This picture of me was taken by pixeljoy a friend who accompanied us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.