"Once up a time."

To quote a, departed, friend of mine.

"When we were very young." I was not the world's greatest eater, thanks mainly to a Grandmother who would, regularly, say to Mam ... "Oh, don't give him that, poor little fellow doesn't like it." and THIS before said poor little fellow had chance to find out.

This was cured by "Mother Dunn" who would put a chicken carcase on a plate in front of the two of us and announce "THERE, I want you to eat that!" in such a way that we did.

Somewhere, along the way, apparently I was presented with some little morsel or other and the instruction to ... "Come on, eat it up, it's nee bigger than a cat's tongue."
Which, of course, elicited the obvious answer.

BUT I DON'T LIKE CAT'S TONGUES!!

It sits, up there, in my memory alongside "Can't say Jemamia, too hard a word."
(My 1st attempt at Geranium)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.