boldsans

By rubyjones

My dad.

My dad was always a bit unlike other dads, my sister
and I spent our childhoods cringing in the car as he would
inevitably crash it into a tree outside the school.
The same bloody tree, for 7 years!
I am still a shit passenger. Thanks dad.

He was always keen to make kites, go fishing, and most excellent of all
would love to demonstrate things. Imagine the look of joy on mum's face
when he showed us how hot black car bonnets would get in the sun
by cracking an egg on our car, and watching it cook.
The finish never comes back by the way.

My dad has now been dead more than half my life,
and every year it is a tiny bit harder to remember him.

But that's probably because I drink too much.
Stay up too late. And don't take my vitamins.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.