Colin McLean

By ColinMcLean

Ossian's Hall

I had been in Birnam, speaking at the Scotland's Rural Past Conference run by RCAHMS. Our own timetable for the day had been knocked sideways by events, but I managed to slip away at afternoon tea, and headed for The Hermitage, near Dunkeld. This has always been a favourite spot of mine and I have visited it over a long period since my parents first took me there some forty years ago.

It was pouring rain when I arrived, as it had been all day, but I had wet weather gear including an umbrella, so walked up the side of the River Braan to Ossian's Hall and Cave. Both are follies built by the Dukes of Atholl in the 18th century in memory of the bard Ossian. Ossian was the character created by Scots poet James MacPherson, who claimed to have translated the works from ancient Gaelic, a claim that has been the subject of some controversy.

Myth or not, Ossian's Hall is a truly magical place, placed on a cliff over the dramatic falls. After the heavy rain, the noise of crashing water in the very full river only added to the drama. All the vegetation was wet and gleaming, and a mist from the falls hovered in the air.

The walk up the river from the car park is beautiful, with glimpses of the Braan through the trees, including some of Scotland's tallest Douglas Firs.

I took a lot of photographs, but the choice has to be one of the falls from Ossian's Hall. I experimented with various shutter speeds to catch the movement of the water.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.