Ferinus vis quod ignarus

By leecarson

Random rewards

So, my cunning plan for next session! Having gestated this idea for a while I'm planning to give it a go - mixing a class reward system with the psychology behind fishing, gambling and even computer games.

It's the random nature of success that keeps people playing - maybe the next roll, maybe the next drop, the next cast is the one I'm waiting for. And people love to improve and level up, right? And even better if you can do so before your friends do.

So, my class next year will be reward with a random score from 1 to 100 for certain tasks - completing homework, returning notes, behaviour, the usuals. I will set them a target - say 500 for the first level (see where this is going, Night Elves?) and they will get a reward spin for each target met. I hope the anticipation of each spin and the hope of higher and higher scores will keep them coming back for more ...maybe next week's spelling homework will tip you into the yellow level!?

Once they "level up", they will get a wristband to signify their status and a set of rewards and privileges only open to their level. The next level will need 600 points, will award a new colour of wristband and so on. It can be extended to allow a 1 to 200 roll if it's something I really want done, or on the spot rewards for multiples of ten, and so on.

We'll see how it goes. All obvious flaws pointed out to me will be mulled over. And this is my WBC entry on the theme of "Random".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.