The Living Years

By emmaneni1

''No price is set on the lavish summer;

June may be had by the poorest comer.''

James Russell Lowell, The Vision of Sir Launfal, 1848

Back Blip.

A fantastic day full of good stuff!

I went swimming in the Balaton for the first time. It's a bit weird, the sand quickly disappears and the bottom of the lake is all slimey! But it was refreshing, cool and beautiful.
We had a beer and a Langos (amazingly unhealthy giant doughnut with sour cream, cheese and garlic on top) each for lunch at the park next to the lake! This is what i call the 'beach'. Being a beach girl all my life this definitely doesn't count in my opinion so this is what I have named it. It was a lovely hot day.
Then we went swimming a few times and relaxed.
We found a park that wasn't full of children's play equipment like usual but gym equipment. It was a good laugh and very clever. That is when I took this blip.
We went for a walk to look at the men fiishing and saw a water snake. Also saw a huge dead catfish on the bank. L said that because the temperature in spring rose so quickly this year lots of catfish had died, by lots i mean 100s.
We walked further on the other side and found some swans with cygnets and a lovely place to sit. There was a man with a really fast remote controlled boat, I think L was a bit jealous.
Then as it got dark we had some dinner. We shared a portion of zander (a fish!) with chips in a lovely little cafe next to the lake. Then we went to sit on the bank and look at the moon but got told off after a few minutes! We found somewhere else to sit and watched the moon reflecting in the water, and the lights from around the lake. It was perfect. L told me that the flashing lights were to warn people to get out of the lake if there is a storm coming. I laughed a bit because he said you couldn't swim or sail if it was windy! I also said something very stupid about how lucky we were to have sat directly opposite the moon's reflection! I am blonde you know!
We went back to the bus and i spotted really cute park chairs, the are in the style of benches but just one person size. Hmmm maybe you had to be there but they were funny. I managed to persuade L that we had time for an ice cream. I chose one scoop of Belgium chocolate and one of passion fruit yoghurt. They were both delicious but I can say Balatonalmadi has the best chocolate ice cream ever!
Then back on the bus and back to Veszprem. Thank you for a perfect lavish June summer day L. xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.