snappable

I hope I didn't get in the way too much at my colleague's intra-team (plus ringers) indoor association football competition this evening. Some of them seemed to be assuming that I would come along to take photographs of them playing indoor association football which I effectively took as an invitation. It was much better-lit than I had been expecting, though the greenish-tinged window at one end made some things a bit tricky. I wish I'd gone to the other end much sooner as the reddish-tinged buildings visible through the window opposite the greenish window made for a much better backdrop, even if people being ended up being green-tinged. I only got in the way once or twice (even at the edges and the corners, though they appeared not to count as edges and corners as there were no throwing-in-the-balls or kicking-from-the-corner game-restarts) but was careful not to touch the ball when it approached me, having an idea that this was somehow interfering with play. There were only two injuries, one a few minutes in and possibly an exacerbation or resumation of a pre-existing dodginess and one ball-in-face towards the end. Neither was the immediate fault of the most likely source of any injuries, former team member David (not the one above) who is predominantly a player of rugby football rather than association football and who is much heavier, fitter, immovable and fearless as a result. The fact that he actually regularly plays (whereas most of the other people on the pitch (or field, or compartment, or box, seeing as it was made of fake grass and was inside (in what would be a fantastic old building were it not filled with fake indoor association football compartments)) hadn't played regularly for some time) probably accounted for the absence of any perceptible difference in specific ability at this particular game (at least, to me) between him and the less-fit but more association-football-biased players. One thing which was readily perceptible was the notable increase in utterances of aggressive shouting-noises from people who are normally mild-mannered systems developers. I'd been hoping for some shots of people getting all pointy-and-shouty to go with some of them looking sweaty and knackered but they mostly seemed to be enjoying themselves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.