Life Naturally

By lifenaturally

Curtain(s) going up.....

First, let me thank all of you for your comments about my dad. He was special in many ways, and so are each of you with your individual styles, backgrounds and memories.

I've been thinking a lot since yesterday - how we share these parts of ourselves with total strangers - people we will probably never meet - and yet, the connection is there - deeper somehow than the more casual online social networking such as Facebook.

Several of you mentioned that I look like my father. Indulge me please, in just one more story........

All my life I was told I looked like my mother, and it's true in some ways that I do. For whatever reason, my mother talked a great deal about Daddy after he died, but we never had very many photos of him to look at - just a couple of tiny snapshots in B&W and a bit blurry. After my mom passed, we were going through her things and my son-in-law came across a file of pictures of my dad. I wasn't in the room, but he called to my daughter and said, "Hey, look at these pictures. Who is this guy, he looks just like your mother." My daughter called me with excitement in her voice, and when I saw all the photos, I burst into tears. The picture in yesterday's blip is an enlargement from a pilot's license photo that was taken in 1943. A photographer friend of mine played with the image (real film, not digital) and created the portrait for me. It's been a treasure ever since. The resemblance also gave me a part of myself that had been missing - a more free and adventuresome person. Looks may not be everything, but in some cases how we perceive ourselves to look can shape our personality.

Now, as to those curtains..... it's been a bit over three weeks since I moved into the new place, and I'm finally getting around to hanging curtains. Some I had already are fine, but I have an extra window in this place, hence the need for new ones. My choices are plain (ecru voile) or fancy (sprigged voile in a subtle floral pattern). Decisions, decisions....... Isn't it appalling that we can be so deep, and so shallow at the same time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.