W8man on the Web

By w8man

Old School

Today was an interesting one, I was helping with an event called "Respect4 All". It was for school pupils going into first year next term. It was, without doubt very weird, as it was held in my old secondary school. Inverurie Academy.

When I was going through what the pupils I met today are, it was 25 years ago. Today, was a day that would leave me feeling very old.

I was in the main gym area that opened when I was in 2nd year and the other group was gathered in the assembly hall. Being there at the start brought back some strange, strange memories. I interviewed the deputy head in the same office I once sat outside. Morning coffee was in an old common room I used to use at lunch time. During lunch I opted for school dinners and walked the corridors once more. Past where I was once hung upside down by my ankles.

It's still as big, nothing has changed. The windows, walls, corridors, rooms everything.

At the end of the day I asked one of the police officers (they organised the event) to take me on a tour just so I could take more of it in.

Here it's a picture of me near the entrance of the dining hall near the doors to the quadrangle (that is now out of bounds, has been for years apparently). This was once a cloakroom area, also where Brendan Hull once took a piece of linoleum from home, rolled up over his shoulder to break dance on during morning break.
Well, it was the 80's after all. Lol

Everyone should be allowed to do what I did today. Just brilliant.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.